276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Long Weekend: ‘By the time you read this, I’ll have killed one of your husbands’

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

How weird is it that we can end up doing stuff we don't like, but can’t seem to find our way out? And yet sometimes the solution is easy - just stop.’ Simone sighed heavily. 'Why is stopping so hard?’

The Long Weekend: Life in the English Country House 1918-1939 The Long Weekend: Life in the English Country House 1918-1939

Question: In your late 30's/early 40's do they really need tequila shots, beer, wine AND sneak to the bathroom for cocaine? Of course things happened after all that...what else would you expect. This has to be the lamest weekend getaway of all time. Further where it goes from there, not what I signed up for. I'm so glad this is over. From the outset, this annual long weekend planned as an idyllic break for three couples got off to a bad start. For various reasons the three men, Paul, Toby and Mark, were unable to get away until the following day so their wives went ahead to spend the night alone in the off-grid, refurbished barn they had booked on a remote farm in Northumbria. As they learn & develop their craft it becomes obvious that there's more than one imposter in the group. Beth, Simone, Alice and Jamie don’t know each other but before the three days are over, secrets from each of them will surface and they will know each other a whole lot better.

Comments

A British Prime Minster of the 1930s was scandalized when he attended a party frequented by “ladies with painted toe nails” (l. 226). Jaimie is a personal trainer, looking for writing inspiration, who is surprised to see Alice at the retreat – it’s nothing the first time they’ve met.

The New York Times New Psychological Thrillers - The New York Times

The author assumes a lot of knowledge of UK geography and the lives of members of high society. I think some of the references will bewilder the colonial reader. Example: I didn't feel bad at all about not knowing who Stephen Tennant and Sibyl Colefax (l. 86) were, especially when I found that Tennant, when alive, was apparently famous for being famous without an discernible talent for anything except decadence, sort of like the Kardashians today. This is a story about friendship in unlikely places, learning from your secrets and confronting your past. Tinniswood is the reigning authority on these old country houses. He has written 12 books on the subject and was awarded the OBE by the Queen for preserving the nation's architectural and social history This is thematic history with each of the 17 chapters based on a certain theme. There is a chapter entitled The King's House (George V, Prince of Wales, Duke of York).; The House Party (the long weekend from Saturday to Tuesday and Their story covers a wide range of popular and social themes, including politics, business, science, religion, art, literature, fashion, education, popular amusements, domestic life, sexual relations, and much else. [1]

What do a physiotherapist, gym owner, influencer & SAHM have in common. On the surface not much, but somehow they have all ended up at an expensive writing retreat with a famed author. There is nothing quite as beautiful as an English country house in summer. And there has never been a summer quite like that Indian summer between the two world wars, a period of gentle decline in which the sun set slowly on the British Empire and the shadows lengthened on the lawns of a thousand stately homes. I really don’t know how Fiona does it will a full time farm job and to produce a book a year and all that comes with making that happen, I certainly take my akubra off to her. I honestly don’t have a bad word to say about this book. If you are looking for a book that is both heartbreaking and heartwarming, that will leave you wanting more, then this is the book for you.

The Long Weekend: Life in the English Country House 1918-1939

Mark– ex-army and now a property developer who is married to Jayne, (also ex-army) who is now a physiotherapist. Jayne is suffering from PTSD and has low self-esteem. A group of friends - mostly lesbians, and there are some f/f sexy times in the book, though it is not a romance - gather in Devon for a celebration of the 20th anniversary of their graduation from college. There are lots of dramas going on in all their lives, and the weekend will serve to resolve some of those and also create others. I have enjoyed all of Gilly Macmillan's previous books and although I enjoyed this one, it was not one of my favorites. I did like the eerie setting and I absolutely LOVE the cover of this book, it drew me right in. I would still recommend this book to those that have enjoyed her previous work and enjoy mystery/thrillers. I look forward to seeing what this author comes up with next! 3.5 stars ~ In this pulse-pounding thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Nanny, a group of women travel to the most remote place in England for a weekend escape, only to discover a startling note that one of their husbands will be killed before they return home. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley. I received a complimentary digital copy of this novel from Century Books UK via NetGalley at my request, for review purposes. I was invited to join in the blog tour for this novel by Isabelle Ralphs (Publicity Manager – Cornerstone/Penguin Random House UK) Publication date: February 3, 2022This is the second book that I have read this month called The Long Weekend, but this one was so very different to the first! This Long Weekend is absolutely one that I am glad I wasn't part of. I don't think that there was one character in this book that I liked or cared about. But in this case I feel that it didn't matter, It was a dark and pretty intense read that kept me guessing until the end. I absolutely loved that this book was written by a local WA author and was also set in the South West of our wonderful state. The Long Week-End is a social history of interwar Britain, written by Robert Graves and Alan Hodge. It was first published in 1940, just after the end of the period it treats. When John and Maggie, the proprietors of Dark Fell Barn receive a beautifully wrapped gift, and note for their next weekend guests, they are assuming it will be a pleasant surprise for them. After all, the instructions attached ask them to place the gift prominently on the kitchen table, facing the door, with letter leaning against it, so it will be the first thing they see when they enter the room, and stressed the importance of their attention to detail.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment