276°
Posted 20 hours ago

How to Make Friends with the Dark

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I also can suffer from repetitive thoughts, but that doesn't mean I didn't find it frustrating at times and all I could think was "let's get a move on. Because Tiger has no other family member available to take her, she is placed into the foster system (which is shocking given that her best friend’s parents are willing to look after her, but rules.

throughout the book, she goes through a series of events she never would have gone through if not for her mother’s death, including foster care, and she must learn to make friends with the dark before it swallows her whole. On a day like any other, after harsh words you can't take back are exchanged, Tiger's mother unexpectedly dies. I am a naturally optimistic person and I hope that when we come out on the other side we will be kinder to each other, and gentler to the planet. She is thrust out of the push and pull of normal adolescent rebellion with her mother into a situation that requires . From page one, Tiger Tolliver grabs your heart with her pain, her courage, her humor—and she doesn't let go.she definitely did not have a smooth journey—which, of course, no grieving person does, but i’d say her journey was rockier than most others’. Kathleen Glasgow is the New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends with the Dark and has been published in 26 countries. Fans of One of Us Is Lying and Riverdale won't want to miss this YA thriller by international bestseller Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson.

The next part of the book is watching Tiger go from home to home while in the middle of mourning a mother she loved dearly, but barely knew. Her fans will not be disappointed to fall in love with Tiger Tolliver, no matter how much she breaks their hearts. It never goes away because when you lose someone you lose some parts of yourselves and you turn into a different person.

I guess I haven’t read many books where kids are shuttled between homes, but this was an interesting overview that I’ve never seen. The plot takes an unexpected turn and the latter half of the book becomes about how to keep going on despite an enormous hole in your heart through friendship and discovering a new family relationship when Tiger finds out she has an older sister, a sister who represents adults who do their best to make lives of these poor children a bit better. Just when Tiger feels she can no longer bear the way her life is managed, the unimaginable happens and her mother dies. We don't have a lot, we never have, but we've made do with what my mom makes as the county Bookmobile lady and from helping out at Bonita's daycare. This could just be a problem with the ARC, but the technical things in the writing were really weird.

Overall, I thought it was fine, even really good at times, but because of the writing, I just really couldn't get into it. Tiger, Cake, and Thaddeus (and Mae-Lynn, and Shayna, and Lupe, and LaLa, and Sarah, and Leonard, and June . We see some of the things that are working good in this system and also some aspects that are very brutal aswell. this entire book is about tiger’s grief, so it’s not like you ever really get a break from it, so please keep that in mind if you decide you’d like to read this book! In the end, I want to recommend How to Make Friends with the Dark to ya contemporary lovers who are looking for an emotional story without romance in it.I wouldn’t have it any other way, because even though it was emotionally hard for me to process everything, by taking my time I think I got the most out of it. Going into How to Make Friends with the Dark I knew I was dealing with heart hitting, emotional prose that will leave me feel low, but nothing prepared me for the amount of emotions I feltl. I was surprised by what happened to Tiger in the end, but Kathleen Glasgow is good enough to hide that surprise until the end.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment